Board of Directors


The Board of Directors perform a critical role of guiding, governing, and broadening the gallery’s operations. Gallery TPW’s Board is primarily composed of artists and curators as well as professionals providing expertise in finance, human resources, and communications. Over the past 40+ years, TPW has been fortunate to count some of Toronto’s most prominent artists and curators as members.

The Board meets approximately every month and hosts the Annual General Meeting.

Hiba Abdallah (President)  is an artist and organizer. Deeply rooted in a socially engaged ethos, her work examines locality, civic resilience and political structures as tools for fostering collective agency. Hiba has created work across media – from public interventions to community projects, gallery exhibitions, and publications.


Rachel Boyle (Treasureris an independent art consultant based in Toronto. Most recently she was the curatorial director of the New York–based Pace Gallery. Rachel, who has contributed to and edited numerous fine-arts publications, has more than 20 years of experience working with artists and cultural institutions worldwide.


Magdalyn Asimakis (Vice President) is a curator and writer based in Toronto. She is the co-founder of the roving project space and curatorial collective ma ma.

Dana Prieto is an Argentine artist and educator based in Toronto whose site-responsive practice manifests in sculpture, installation, performance, writing, and collaborations. Dana’s work deftly examines our intimate and collective entanglements with colonial institutions and power structures by exposing how we relate, think, make, and consume in the Anthropocene. Her work has been presented in national and international galleries, public spaces, and informal cultural venues.

Solana Cain  (Programming Committee Chair) is a news photo editor at The Globe and Mail, Canada's national newspaper. She is passionate about ensuring diversity and inclusion behind the lens in news coverage. Solana has worked as a photo editor for Getty Images, HELLO! Canada and Maclean's. Solana is a member of Diversify Photo, The Authority Collective, Women Photograph and a mentor in the newly launched BIPOC photojournalism mentorship program, Room Up Front. Solana occasionally works as a freelance photojournalist and is committed to her own photojournalism practice of documenting authentic and empowering images of Black women and girls. Solana was selected as one of the first artists in residence at Nia Centre for the Arts in Toronto. She graduated from Ryerson University School of Journalism and the photojournalism program at Loyalist College.

Rah is a video, net and performance artist. Her multimedia and multi-character works critique the visual stereotypes and performative aspects that shape female gender identity and national and ethnic identity.

Camille Rojas (she/her. b. 1993 Toronto; lives and works in Toronto) is a multidisciplinary artist working with film, photography and dance. Her work uses movement as the primary vehicle to dissect ideas and emotions. Recent interests include art economics, stock market drama and computer vision science.

Advisory Committee

The TPW's Advisory Committee is composed of senior artists, curators and leaders in the arts who together form a brain trust for the gallery. While they do not hold formal responsibilities, advisory committee members support both Board members as well as staff and artists associated with TPW on issues and opportunities. The committee meets as needed.

Gaëtane Verna, Director, The Power Plant 

Mimi Joh-Carnella, Art Historian, Writer, Professor OCAD University, Chair, Partners In Art

Kathleen Pirrie Adams, Curator, Writer, Assistant Professor, Photography & Film, Ryerson University

Kenneth Montague, Collector, Philanthropist, Wedge Curatorial Projects

Robyn McCallum, Senior Manager and Curator, Scotiabank (Art Collection)

Shane Smith, Director of Programming, Hot Docs

Sophie Hackett, Curator of Photography, Art Gallery of Ontario; Former Board Chair of Gallery TPW

Will Kwan, Artist, Director and Associate Chair of Studio Art, University of Toronto Scarborough

Dr. Gaëlle Morel, Exhibitions Curator, Ryerson Image Centre

Elle Flanders, Artist, Educator, Co-Founder of Public Studio